Rule 1002-1. Petition – General (Place of Filing)

(a) CHAPTER 7 AND 13 CASES. A petition commencing a chapter 7 or 13 case shall be filed in the division listed below for the county designated in the petition as the county for the debtor’s mailing address. If two cities are listed for a county, the petition may be filed in either division. The clerk may permit or direct the filing of a petition in a particular division if the debtor has an interest in property in several counties or is an affiliate of a debtor in a pending case, or for other good cause. The repeated filing of petitions in incorrect divisional offices will be referred to the judge assigned to an incorrectly filed petition and may result in the issuance of an order to show cause or sanctions.

County – Division Where Petition Is To Be Filed:

Aitkin – Duluth Isanti – Minneapolis Pipestone – St. Paul
Anoka – Minneapolis Itasca – Duluth Polk – Fergus Falls
Becker – Fergus Falls Jackson – St Paul Pope- Fergus Falls
Beltrami – Fergus Falls Kanabec – Duluth Ramsey – St Paul
Benton – Duluth Kandiyohi – Minneapolis Red Lake – Fergus Falls
Big Stone – Fergus Falls Kittson – Fergus Falls Redwood – St Paul
Blue Earth – St Paul Koochiching – Duluth Renville – Minneapolis
Brown – St Paul Lac Qui Parle – St Paul Rice – St Paul
Carlton – Duluth Lake – Duluth Rock – St Paul
Carver – Minneapolis Lake of The Woods – Fergus Falls Roseau – Fergus Falls
Cass – Duluth LeSueur – St Paul St Louis – Duluth
Chippewa – Minneapolis Lincoln – St Paul Scott – St Paul
Chisago – St Paul Lyon – St Paul Sherburne – Minneapolis
Clay – Fergus Falls Mahnomen – Fergus Falls Sibley – St Paul
Clearwater – Fergus Falls Marshall – Fergus Falls Stearns – Fergus Falls
Cook – Duluth Martin – St Paul Steele – St Paul
Cottonwood – St Paul McLeod – Minneapolis Stevens – Fergus Falls
Crow Wing – Duluth Meeker – Minneapolis Swift – Minneapolis
Dakota – St Paul Mille Lacs – Duluth Todd – Fergus Falls
Dodge – St Paul Morrison – Duluth Traverse – Fergus Falls
Douglas – Fergus Falls Mower – St Paul Wabasha – St Paul
Faribault – St Paul Murray – St Paul Wadena – Fergus Falls
Fillmore – St Paul Nicollet – St Paul Waseca – St Paul
Freeborn – St Paul Nobles – St Paul Washington – St Paul
Goodhue – St Paul Norman – Fergus Falls Watonwan – St Paul
Grant – Fergus Falls Otter Tail – Fergus Falls Wilkin – Fergus Falls
Hennepin – Minneapolis Olmsted – St Paul Winona – St Paul
Houston – St Paul Pennington – Fergus Falls Wright – Minneapolis
Hubbard – Fergus Falls Pine – Duluth Yellow Medicine – St Paul

(b) CHAPTER 11 AND 12 CASES. A petition commencing a chapter 11 or 12 case may be filed in any division of the clerk but will not be assigned to a judge or given a case number until after processing. After it is assigned to a judge under Local Rule 1073-1, the case shall be assigned to the appropriate division.